2016 Honorees

Californians Against Waste annually recognizes members of the Legislature and, occasionally, other distinguished leaders for their efforts to advance waste reduction and recycling in California. We are proud to announce our 2016 honorees:

2016 Recycling Legislator of the Year

Assemblymember Richard Bloom (D-Santa Monica)

Assemblymember Richard Bloom has been a consistent environmental champion during his tenure in the legislature. Assemblymember Bloom has prioritized conserving our natural resources and protecting the environment against pollution. The Assemblymember authored our landmark legislation banning plastic microbeads from cosmetic products to combat huge amounts of plastic waste from flowing into the ocean and our drinking water sources. The legislation was signed into law by the governor in 2015. The law inspired a national and world wide movement against plastic microbeads. 


2016 Recycling Champion of the Year

Debbie Raphael, Director of The San Francisco Department of the Environment

Throughout her career, Debbie Raphael has remained committed to waste and recycling issues. During her time at the City of San Francisco and her tenure at the Department of Toxic Substances Control (DTSC) she has been a leader in supporting waste reduction, producer responsibility, and recycling. At DTSC, she established a goal of cutting the disposal of hazardous waste in half, and established procedures to ensure that the agency's decision making was scientifically sound and relied on input from affected communities. Under her leadership, the City of San Francisco has not only set ambitious waste reduction and climate targets, but also implemented concrete policies to implement these goals.