2017 Legislators of the Year

Californians Against Waste annually recognizes members of the Legislature and, occasionally, other distinguished leaders for their efforts to advance waste reduction and recycling in California. 

We are proud to announce our 2017 recipients of this annual honor. 

(Previous Honorees)


Senator Ben Allen

We want to thank Senator Allen for his work on SB 705 to phase out expanded polystyrene takeout containers and his efforts to reduce motor oil waste in SB 778, which would have required oil change shops to provide accurate information to consumers about the frequency with which they actually require oil changes.

“In less than two years, Senator Ben Allen has emerged as one the California legislature’s undisputed environmental champions”, said Mark Murray, Executive Director of Californians Against Waste. “Beyond his 100% environmental voting record, Senator Allen has not been afraid to take on tough challenge and moneyed special interests. This year Senator Allen led the charge in an effort to phase-out polluting polystyrene fast food packaging."

Phil Ting Head Shot.jpg

Assembly Member Phil Ting

Assembly Member Phil Ting was honored for his leadership tackling needed improvements to the state’s beverage container recycling program, and for his ongoing efforts to support funding for recycling and composting infrastructure as chair of the Assembly Budget Committee.

“Assembly Member Ting has shown an unwavering dedication to recycling and composting during his tenure in the Assembly,” said Nick Lapis, Director of Advocacy at Californians Against Waste. “We especially commend Assembly Member Ting’s tireless efforts to protect convenient recycling opportunities for consumers under the state’s Bottle Bill program and his support for cutting greenhouse gas emissions through increased investments in recycling and composting infrastructure.”