SB 1014 (Jackson, 2013-14) Pharmaceutical Take-Back Program

Creates voluntary takeback programs to adopt model guidelines as established under SB 966 (Simitian).

Position and Status
CAW Supports. Referred to Assembly Appropriations. Passed Assembly ESTM and BPCP committees on 6/17/14 and 6/24/14, respectively. Previously passed Senate Floor on 5/29/14. This bill is no longer active.

The use of pharmaceuticals in California has exploded in recent years—more than doubling in sales from 2000 to 2008—and this will only continue to grow as our population ages. The traditional methods of flushing drugs down the drain or throwing them in the trash create an array of threats to public health and safety, and the environment.

This bill originally sought to reduce these threats by placing the responsiblity on pharmaceutical manufacturers to create a program for convenient used drug disposal, similar to a successful program in place in British Columbia since 1996. It has been amended to codify the model guidelines for takeback program established under an expired law and authorizes pharmacies to accept home-generated pharmaceutical waste for takeback.

CAW Staff Contacts
Sue Vang (916) 443-5422


Current Language, Analyses and Votes

Senator Hannah-Beth Jackson
State Capitol
Sacramento, CA 95814 



Alameda County Board of Supervisors (co-sponsor)
Alameda County District Attorney's Office
Alameda County Sheriff's Office
Ashland Cherryland Together
Breast Cancer Fund
Butte County Public Health Department
Butte County Sheriff's Office
California Alliance for Retired Americans (co-sponsor)
California Association of Sanitation Agencies
California Nurses Association
California Police Chiefs Association
California Product Stewardship Council (co-sponsor)
California Resource Recovery Association
California Rural Legal Assistance Foundation
California School Employees Association
California State Association of Counties
California State Sheriff's Association
California Teamsters Public Affairs Council
California Water Environment Association
Californians Against Waste
Center for Biological Diversity
Central Contra Costa County Sanitary District
Central Contra Costa Solid Waste Authority
City and County of San Francisco (co-sponsor)
City of Chula Vista Mayor Cheryl Cox
City of Chula Vista Police Department
City of Corona Mayor Karen Spiegel
City of Fortuna
City of Livermore
City of Los Altos
City of Millbrae Mayor Wayne J. Lee
City of Palo Alto Mayor Nancy Shepherd
City of Porterville Mayor Cameron J. Hamilton
City of Roseville Mayor Susan Rohan
City of Sacramento
City of San Diego Environmental Services Department
City of San Jose
City of San Mateo
City of San Rafael
City of San Rafael Fire Department
City of Santa Maria Mayor Alice M. Patino
City of Santa Monica Mayor Pam O'Connor
City of Santa Rosa Mayor Scott P. Bartley
City of Sunnyvale Mayor Jim Griffith
City of Torrance Mayor Frank Scotto
City of Ukiah Mayor Phil Baldwin
Clean Water Action (co-sponsor)
Clover Flat Resource Recovery Park
Consumer Federation of California
CommPre/Horizons, Inc.
Community Prevention Partners of Santa Cruz County
Community Water Center
Contra Costa County Board of Supervisors
Contra Costa County Prescription Drug Abuse Prevention Coalition
County of Santa Barbara
County of Santa Clara
County of Santa Cruz Board of Supervisors - Supervisors Neal Coonery & Bruce McPherson
Defenders of Wildlife
Delta Diablo
East Bay Municipal Utility District
Eastern Municipal Water District
Ecology Action
Ecology Center
El Dorado Irrigation District
Environment California
Environmental Working Group
Goleta Sanitary District
Goleta West Sanitary District
Gray Panthers of San Francisco
Heal the Bay
Horsnyder Pharmacy, Santa Cruz
Hospice of Santa Cruz County
Las Gallinas Valley Sanitary District
Las Virgenes-Triunfo Joint Powers Authority
League of California Cities
League of Women Voters of California
Leucadia Wastewater District
Los Angeles County Sheriff's Department
Los Angeles County Solid Waste Management Committee/ Integrated Waste Management Task Force
Mammoth Community Water District
Marin County Board of Supervisors
Marin County Hazardous and Solid Waste Joint Powers Authority
Mendocino Solid Waste Management Authority
Metropolitan Water District of Southern California
Midway City Sanitary District
Monterey Regional Waste Management District
Mt. View Sanitary District
Napa County Board of Supervisors
Napa Sanitation District
National Coalition Against Prescription Drug Abuse
Natural Resources Defense Council
North American Hazardous Materials Management Association
OWL, San Francisco Chapter
Pajaro Valley Water Management Agency
Pharamacists Planning Service, Inc.
Physicians for Social Responsibility - Los Angeles
Product Stewardship Institute
Rural County Representatives of California
Russian River Watershed Association
Sacramento Regional County Sanitation District
Sacramento State Student Health Services Pharmacy
San Francisco Public Utilities Commission
Santa Cruz Desal Alternatives
Scotts Valley Police Department
Seventh Generation Advisors
Sierra Club California
Silicon Valley Clean Water Action
Sonoma County Waste Management Agency
Sonoma County Water Agency
Stege Sanitary District
Tehama County Sanitary Landfill Agency
Teleosis Foundation
Town of Windsor
Union Sanitary District
Upper Valley Disposal & Recycling
Vallejo Sanitation & Flood Control District
Victor Valley Wastewater Reclamation Authority
Watsonville Pharmacy
West County Wastewater District
Women's Recovery Services